Hola ! Its Picadillo Time !

Spain ! Such a beautiful country with such a vibrant history ! And the food .. DELICIOSO ! A lot of Spanish culture can also be seen in Filipino cuisine, and that is exactly where I got this recipe from.

A colleague at work had prepared this dish and I fell head over heels in love with it. That  is when I decided to research about it and also prepare a rendition of it myself. It turned out great and that’s why I am here now to share it with you ! So get your shopping cart ready and lets go !

SHOPPING LIST :

  •          650 gm Pork/Chicken Mince
  •          3 Onions chopped
  •          7 Garlic cloves chopped
  •          3 Carrots cut into small cubes
  •          1 Red Capsicum cut into small cubes
  •          3 Potatoes cut into small cubes
  •          2 small packets of Tomato Paste
  •          3 tbsps White Sugar
  •          3 tbsps Paprika Powder
  •          2 tsps Fish Sauce
  •          1 tsp Soya Sauce
  •          2 tbsps Butter and 1 Tbsp oil to cook
  •          Salt and Pepper to taste 

Wash the mince, add a little salt, pepper and turmeric powder and keep aside. Sometimes pork/chicken mince can emit an odour. Hence to remove that odour, I recommend adding a teaspoon of turmeric powder. That’s a wonderful trick that actually works wonders 🙂

20140401_214135

Now chop the garlic and onions and keep aside. Then prep the vegetables, keeping the potatoes for last so that they do not turn brown and dry. I loved the way the vegetables looked after they were cut, like mini cubes. My cutting board was so colourful, it was exciting !!

image.png

diced-potatoes

Heat up the oil and butter in a wok/deep pan, first fry the onions and garlic till it turns transparent then add the mince and fry till it turns white. Add the paprika and soya sauce, keep stirring. In a small bowl mix the tomato paste, salt, sugar,pepper and fish sauce.

After the mince has simmered for 10 minutes, pour in the paste and keep stirring till it covers the entire mince. Add some water according to how thick or thin you would like your gravy to be. Lastly taste and season according to your taste buds. Do remember, it has to be sweet and sour ! Mouth watering ? Mine did too !

20140401_221855

Serve it with a smile 😀 You can eat it with bread but i actually prefer rice. For my packed lunch I wrapped it up in a tortilla bread with grated cheddar cheese and it was YUMMM !

20140402_063046

Do not forget to tell me how it was, I would love to know how it went ! Until my next post .. Happy Eating ! 🙂

Cheers !

L.P.G xx

3 thoughts on “Hola ! Its Picadillo Time !

  1. Hey ! First of all thank you so much for your interest in my recipe. I think half a can of tomato paste should suffice which is equivalent to around 250 gms 🙂 Let me know if there’s anything else I can help you with !

Leave a Reply

